New single: Guy Hamper Trio Featuring James Taylor || Instrument Of Evil

The Guy Hamper Trio made their debut in 2009 with the Polygraph Test 45, only to return under this moniker in 2022, but they have been on a roll ever since – with the legendary James Taylor (The Prisoners, The James Taylor Quartet) on board. After the more than successful All The Poisons In The Mud and Man In The Mouth Of A Cave LPs (and several singles), Guy Hamper aka Billy Childish (guitar), Juju Claudius aka Julie Hamper (bass), Wolf Howard (drums) and James Taylor (Hammond organ) now deliver the next 7″, also featuring Anna Jordanous (sax) and Tom Morley (trumpet). Instrument of Evil is the sequel to All The Poisons In The Mud‘s 7% Solution, named after the syringe with which Sherlock Holmes was administered morphine, but also a nod to Elmer Bernstein’s main title theme to the The Man With the Golden Arm film. Incense Rising From a Censer refers to The Elders observation in Dostoevsky’s The Brothers Karamazov book. Even if you don’t know the background stories of these tunes (more about that here), you will undoubtedly have the feeling that both instrumentals of this double A side are the band’s most cinematic effort to date. Cool stuff.

Instrument Of Evil b/w Incense Rising from a Censer, written & produced by Billy Childish and engineered by Jim Riley, is out now on vinyl 7″ through Damaged Goods.

Add to wantlist: Damaged Goods || Discogs

1 thought on “New single: Guy Hamper Trio Featuring James Taylor || Instrument Of Evil”

  1. Pingback: New album: The Prisoners || Morning Star - Add To Wantlist

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top