New album: The Silversound || The Silversound

The Silversound are a new project from four veterans of the Australian music scene. In the ten songs on their self-titled debut album, Shane O’Mara (vocals, guitar), Andrew Tanner (vocals, guitar), Leroy Cope (drums) and Stu Thomas (bass) take the time to show what they are capable of. A lot, it turns out. This is 73 minutes of psychedelic blues rock extravagance – not so much in the sense of lavishness, but as a groovy trip through colorful treats. The lyrics say it all: “Drink up the mystic // Dance with the Maker // Move ecstatic just like a Shaker” (from standout track Shaker). Although the playing is at times heavy, fuzzy and technically complex, it comes across as accessible and funky in terms of feel and sound. After nine mesmerizing originals, the record closes into the night with a subdued cover of Pink Floyd’s Fat Old Sun, from which the band takes its name: “The silver sound from a tongue so strange // Sing to me, sing to me.” Amazing.

The Silversound, produced by Shane O’Mara and mastered by Mickey Young, is out now digitally, on CD and vinyl 2LP through Cheersquad Records & Tapes.

Add to wantlist: Bandcamp

1 thought on “New album: The Silversound || The Silversound”

  1. Pingback: Dusted || The 10 Best Cover Songs Of March 2023 – Add To Wantlist

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top