New album: Burghers Orquestra || Burghers Orquestra

Amsterdam-based musicians Niels de Wit (Electric Tears, The Vernon Walters, Johan, De Kift) and Simone Mansveld (Bugs, Simone Joan Mansfield) released two singles and two EPs as Burghers in the period 2018-2021, but they are now making a fresh start as Burghers Orquestra. And what a start it is. With this new project they also take a different path musically, because the spiky and dark indie rock sound has made way for a kind of versatile power pop in a psychedelic jacket. It fits them like a glove. Their self-titled debut album contains eleven exotic gems with wonderful melodies, beautiful harmonies, and cinematic delicacies, that prompt the sun to break through the autumn clouds. It’s an amazing, uplifting and somewhat alienating mix of 60’s psych pop, yé-yé, popcorn, surf, garage rock, folk and even dub. Rich in instruments and ideas, but always at the service of the perfect song.

Burghers Orquestra’s self-titled album is out now digitally and on vinyl LP through Dewityourself Records.

Add to wantlist: Bandcamp

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top