New EP: Future Girls || Year Long Winter

After a 3 to 4 year hiatus, Halifax punkrockers Future Girls return with a new EP on Tarantula Tapes and Dirt Cult Records. Future Girls currently are a four-piece – Matty Grace (Guitar/Vocals), Heather Grant (Guitar/Vocals), Becca Dalley (Bass/Vocals), and Dewayne Shanks (Drums). Year Long Winter was written in the early stages of the pandemic, and recorded after Becca Dalley (a bandmate of Matty Grace’s Cluttered) joined the band. The five songs on Year Long Winter are powerful sad bangers, catchy despite their sad undertones. One particular strength of Future girls is that three quarters of the band take on vocal duties, each with their own unique sound. After listening to all five songs, I can’t help but exclaim: Yeah, this is how you do punkrock!

By the way, together with Year Long winter, Tarantula Tapes released Matty Grace’s solo EP I Was A Fat Stupid that I recommend checking out as well.

Add to wantlist: Tarantula Tapes || Dirt Cult Records

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top