New album: The Grease Traps || Solid Ground

Fans of James Brown, Curtis Mayfield, Durand Jones & The Indications and Blaxploitation soundtracks can get their dancing shoes on again, and hip-hop producers searching for fresh samples should open their ears. US eight-piece The Grease Traps have released their debut LP Solid Ground, featuring eleven slices of great hard-driving funk and lowdown soul, both originals and (rare) covers. Raw and energetic on the one hand, perfect and honest on the other. The band spent six years working on the album’s recording and mixing; as fans of the old school analog sound, the album was recorded straight to 8-track tape on a Tascam 388, which also graces the cover art. Kevin O’Dea (guitar, triangle), Aaron Julin (keys, tambourine, trombone), Goopy Rossi (bass), Dave Brick (drums), The Gata (lead vocals), Chris Brown (trumpet), Dave Salvatore (tenor sax ), and Mike Maricle (baritone sax) master their instruments like The JB’s did in the past, and their sound is as clear and big as can be. A solid debut that blows the roof off.

Solid Ground is out now digitally, on CD and vinyl LP through Record Kicks. This will be a new classic in the genre, you’re just in time to get your hands on the first pressing.

Add to wantlist: Bandcamp || Discogs

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top