New album: The Jack Cades || Something New

Half a year ago we raved about The Jack Cades’ 45 Something New b/w Chasing You, which left us looking forward to more. The UK garage rock four-piece now adds eleven fresh tunes (including a successful cover of The Velvet Underground’s Temptation Inside Your Heart) to those two songs, which together make up their third LP, which is also titled Something New. We know the musicians – Elsa Whittaker (rhythm guitar, organ, vocals), Mike Whittaker (lead guitar, vocals), Alexandra Cools (bass), Matthew “Mole” Lambert (drums) – from bands like The Missing Souls, The Baron Four, Thee Vicars, The Evil Thingies, Groovy Uncle and The Higher State, but the sound here is less raucous than what they did there. This record is a psychedelic surf trip, with guitars delightfully jangling away. Sun-kissed fun, let the summer begin.

Something New, produced by Ed Gizzard, is out now digitally and on vinyl LP through Beluga Records / Dangerhouse Skylab.

Add to wantlist: Bandcamp || Beluga || Discogs

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top